September 27, 2021
  • 7:00 am Outstanding Professor Award Recipient’s Mic Drop Moment at Last Month’s Virtual Ceremony
  • 9:10 am Bookworms of the World Unite!
  • 7:46 pm Breaking News: All Students Living in Campus Housing Required to Receive COVID-19 Vaccine
  • 9:00 am CSUDH Esports Creates International Competition
  • 9:35 am Spring Commencement Ceremonies Get Brighter
  • 3:46 pm Breaking News: Spring Commencement Ceremonies Recieve Stadium Upgrade
  • 8:00 am Testing the Teachers (and All the Educators)
  • 9:30 am CSUDH Educators and School Employees, Vaccinated Next
  • 10:30 am For White People Only: Anti-Racism Workshop Addresses Racial Bias and Unity
  • 2:43 pm Greatness Personified: Remembering Kobe Bryant
  • 10:02 am Straight Down the Chimney and Into Your (Digital) Hands: Special Holiday Edition of The Bulletin!
  • 2:44 pm Did You Wake up Looking this Beautiful?
  • 11:43 am A Long History for University’s Newest Major
  • 5:15 pm Issue 5 of Bulletin Live! Collector’s Item! Worth its Weight in Digital Paper!
  • 4:06 pm Special Election Issue
  • 4:03 pm Three best Latinx Halloween & Horror Short Films available now on HBO Max
  • 9:49 am Issue 3 of CSUDH Bulletin Live if You Want It
  • 3:24 pm Hispanic Heritage Month Update
  • 2:00 pm South Bay Economic Forecast Goes Virtual
  • 3:52 pm BREAKING NEWS: Classes for Spring to be Online, CSU Chancellor Announces
  • 9:39 am “Strikes” and Solidarity
  • 8:30 am March Into History: Just 5 in 1970, CSUDH Growth Shaped by Historic Event
  • 8:30 am Will the Bulletin Make Today Tomorrow?
  • 9:04 am Different Neighborhoods Warrant Rubber Bullets or Traffic Control For Protesters
  • 5:07 pm STAFF EDITORIAL: Even Socially Distant, We All Have to Work Together
  • 5:47 pm Transcript of CSUDH President Parham’s Coronavirus Announcement
  • 10:46 am Cal State Long Beach Suspends Face-to-Face Classes; CSUDH Discussing Contingency Plans
  • 5:26 pm Things Black People Should be Able to Get Away with This Month
  • 10:25 am Latinx Students Need a Place to Call Home
  • 2:35 pm Will Time Run Out Before Funds for PEGS? [UPDATED]
  • 8:41 am Year of the Rat? What’s That?
  • 6:20 am Artist Who Gave Life to Death and Inspired Countless Others Gets His Due at Dominguez Hills
  • 5:16 pm Why I’m Rooting for Dr. Cornel West
  • 5:00 pm Under Fire from the Feds, Vaping’s Future is Cloudy
  • 3:28 pm We’re Going to Need a Bigger Boat; Tsunami 3.0 Hits Campus, Enrollment Swells
  • 4:48 pm University Weathering a Wave of New Students
  • 9:21 pm The Bulletin’s Public Records Request Offers Springboard to Launch Gender Equity Discussion at CSUDH
  • 4:27 pm Black is the New Black: Raising the Capital on the “B” Word
  • 10:53 am Guns Up for Arrest: Student advocacy group pushes for CSU No Gun Zones–Including the Police
  • 4:09 pm Staff Editorial: Words on the First
  • 8:42 pm Carson Mayor Blasts Media, Landmark Libel Case in Keynote Address
  • 9:27 am Free Speech Week Calendar of Events Update
  • 6:02 am Food for Thought: 40% of Students are Food Insecure
  • 3:12 pm Academic Senate Rejects CSU GE Task Force & Report
  • 3:06 pm Work To Be Done
  • 5:56 pm ASI Elections: What You Need to Know
  • 8:02 pm CSUDH President Parham Announces Cancer Diagnosis
  • 9:47 am CSUDH Art Professor’s 20-Year Journey Results in First Local Showing of Film
  • 9:13 pm Free Speech or Free Hate area?
  • 9:08 pm CSUDH’s Best & Brightest Shine at Student Research Day
  • 9:05 pm Academic Senate Approves Gender Equity Task Force
  • 12:37 pm When Dr. Davis speaks, Toros Pay Close Attention
  • 3:38 pm Investing in the Future: Dr. Thomas A. Parham Reflects on the Past Eight Months and Contemplates​ the University’s Future
  • 3:24 pm Green Olive to Open By End of Feb; Starbucks Not Until Fall
  • 3:20 pm Gov. Newsom’s Proposed Budget Hailed for Extensive Funding Increases
  • 3:08 pm Out of the Classroom: Labor and Community Organizing Course Aims to Teach Students How to Organize for Social Justice
  • 2:54 pm The Other Route in Professional Sports
  • 9:02 am Hail to the New Chief, CSUDH President Thomas Parham
  • 3:36 pm Career Center Holds Major/Minor Fair
  • 5:34 pm After Unexpected Delay, Undocumented Becomes More Intimate Theatrical Production
  • 1:30 pm What to Expect When You’re Expecting New Buildings
  • 7:53 pm Will the New Era of College Education Rely on Zoom?
  • 7:46 pm First Time Living Alone During Autumn; Some Tips to Dive into the Autumn Spirit
  • 7:36 pm Toros Volleyball Ready to Flip the Odds
  • 7:12 pm CCAA Network Offered Free for Fans this season
  • 7:07 pm CSUDH Men’s Basketball Adds Seven Newcomers to Roster

By Carissa Diaz
Staff Writer

Hip-hop is normally well-known for having a gritty urban sound with hard lyrics, but that’s not the case with artist Bas. He brings a new sound of techno and funky beats to the genre that is unique compared to the usual aggressiveness.

It’s been two years since we received the Dreamville artists’ last album which included mellow melodic music. The Jamaica, Queen’s artist was traveling on tour this summer, but still managed to give the fans, or as he would call them, Fiends, what they’ve been waiting for. 

His third album “Milky Way” takes a different route including Afro-Caribbean and up-tempo beats into his songs. Its’ feel-good music makes you want to dance to the rhythm with songs like, “Sanufa” and “Spaceships + Rockets.”

In an interview with radio station Real 92.3, Bas expressed, “My music has always been musical, but I just felt like I could step it up on the drums, I had like a progression to make there from the last album to this one.”

The collaborations include the founder of Dreamville and Grammy-nominated artist, J. Cole and fellow Dreamville artist, Ari Lennox. The surprising collaboration was between Bas and Harlem’s native and A$AP Mob member, A$AP Ferg. Although they are both from New York, the two artists have different sounds.

A$AP Ferg’s gritty hip-hop voice flows surprisingly well with Bas’ soft, smooth rhythm on the first single “Boca Raton.” The drops of the beats during A$AP Ferg’s verse allows him to keep his original assertive, trap persona.

“Milky Way” starts off with Bas rapping about his blessings in life since his rap career took off with record label Dreamville. In “Icarus” featuring Ari Lennox, he speaks about how his life could have gone badly if he would have chosen a path of selling drugs instead of music. He keeps that same vibe on “Purge,” rapping about doing his best on his own and being the best artist he can be even though people don’t recognize it.

He raps, “A young legend fulfilling my dreams shattering ceilings.”

It also brings out the soft side of Bas where he speaks on relationships and finding someone that he enjoys being around. On tracks like the second single, “Tribe” featuring J. Cole and “PDA,” he expresses how he would leave the single life for someone because she has all the great qualities of a woman he wants. He goes on to rap about men acting as if they don’t want to be in love because it’s not manly enough.

Bas includes two monologues from movies and uses them as transitions to other tracks. The track “Great Ones” is from “A Bronx Tale” where a character is telling another character that, “You’re only allowed three great women in your lifetime.” The other one is “Infinity” from the movie “White Men Can’t Jump” where the couple is speaking about how much he loves her. The interludes flow smoothly into the tracks about love and relationships.

Bas is known for adding international sounds to hip-hop and that’s what makes this album work. “Milky Way” adds a new touch with techno and Afrobeat. Listening to this new sound is refreshing since we’ve gotten used to the typical aggressive hip-hop sounds.



Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: